X

www.blaven.com uses cookies to make this website better. Read more about this on the privacy policy page.

Random photograph of Blaven
Welcome to

Letterfearn Archive

On this page you can view the images captured by the Letterfearn webcam 17 hours a day over the past 30 days.

Briefly, use the table of times and dates below to choose the point of interest. Press the play button under the image to play a time-lapse sequence of images from the current time until the end of the selected day.

This webcam is in the village of Letterfearn on the west bank of Loch Duich. The webcam looks south along the unclassified single-track road towards Rattagan and Shiel Bridge.

The current weather conditions from an amateur weather station in Letterfearn can be read here.

Step back button Play button Part play button Stop button Step forward button   Toggle captions button Latest image button

A picture is taken every 15 minutes between the hours of 05:00 and 22:00 UK local time (5am to 10pm). Outside of these hours there is nothing to see but blackness. Not just any blackness, but that special West Coast of Scotland blackness that, devoid of light pollution, is so black that light literally falls in to it. Click on the tables of times and dates to the left to jump directly to a hour. Please remember that you can only view pictures for today up to the current time!

Use the video recorder style buttons Forward button forward and Back button rewind buttons under the picture to step through the selected day 15 minutes at a time. Alternatively press the Play button play button to play a time-lapse sequence from morning until night.

The Last Thirty Days

The pictures below have been taken at 13:00 (1pm UK local time) on each of the past thirty days. Click on a picture to display a larger version of it above.

Friday 25-Aug
Saturday 26-Aug
Sunday 27-Aug
Monday 28-Aug
Tuesday 29-Aug

Wednesday 30-Aug
Thursday 31-Aug
Friday 01-Sep
Saturday 02-Sep
Sunday 03-Sep

Monday 04-Sep
Tuesday 05-Sep
Wednesday 06-Sep
Thursday 07-Sep
Friday 08-Sep

Saturday 09-Sep
Sunday 10-Sep
Monday 11-Sep
Tuesday 12-Sep
Wednesday 13-Sep

Thursday 14-Sep
Friday 15-Sep
Saturday 16-Sep
Sunday 17-Sep
Monday 18-Sep

Tuesday 19-Sep
Wednesday 20-Sep
Thursday 21-Sep
Friday 22-Sep
Saturday 23-Sep

More Information

This webcam is located in the village of Letterfearn on the west bank of Loch Duich. Click here to view a zoomable map of the area covered by the webcam courtesy of Multimap.

Click to enlarge
Satellite image showing the location of Letterfearn and approximate field of view of this webcam. Original image copyright 2006 MDA Earthsat
Satellite image showing the location of Letterfearn and approximate field of view of this webcam. Original image copyright 2006 MDA Earthsat

The webcam looks south along the unclassified single-track road towards village of Rattagan and onwards to Shiel Bridge where the road meets the main A87 trunk road to the Isle of Skye.

The Battle of Glen Shiel took place 9km (6 miles) south west of Shiel Bridge in 1719. The battle was fought between British Government troops and an alliance between the Jacobites and Spannish. It battle is the last close quarter battle to take place between British and foreign troops on British soil. The British troops led by Major Milburn won.

Close to the battle field itself is Sgurr nan Spainteach, or "Peak of the Spaniards" where the 200 Spannish troops camped out in preparation to do battle. It is easy to look back with the benefit of hindsight but perhaps if they had chosen a less obvious place to hide the British troops might have had a harder time locating and defeating them!

Acknowledgment

Thank you to Tim Macpherson of Glenelg Holiday Cottages for allowing images from his Letterfearn webcam to be displayed here.

Home | Top