X

www.blaven.com uses cookies to make this website better. Read more about this on the privacy policy page.

Random photograph of Blaven
Welcome to

Glen Bernera and Glas Bheinn Archive

On this page you can view the images captured by the Glen Bernera and Glas Bheinn webcam 17 hours a day over the past 30 days.

Briefly, use the table of times and dates below to choose the point of interest. Press the play button under the image to play a time-lapse sequence of images from the current time until the end of the selected day.

This webcam at Bernera Farm, 3km (1.8 miles) north of Glenelg, looks north east down Glen Bernera towards Glas Bheinn 394m (1,300 feet). The road continues to Ardintoul Point.

Step back button Play button Part play button Stop button Step forward button   Toggle captions button Latest image button

A picture is taken every 15 minutes between the hours of 05:00 and 22:00 UK local time (5am to 10pm). Outside of these hours there is nothing to see but blackness. Not just any blackness, but that special West Coast of Scotland blackness that, devoid of light pollution, is so black that light literally falls in to it. Click on the tables of times and dates to the left to jump directly to a hour. Please remember that you can only view pictures for today up to the current time!

Use the video recorder style buttons Forward button forward and Back button rewind buttons under the picture to step through the selected day 15 minutes at a time. Alternatively press the Play button play button to play a time-lapse sequence from morning until night.

The Last Thirty Days

The pictures below have been taken at 13:00 (1pm UK local time) on each of the past thirty days. Click on a picture to display a larger version of it above.

Thursday 30-Mar
Friday 31-Mar
Saturday 01-Apr
Sunday 02-Apr
Monday 03-Apr

Tuesday 04-Apr
Wednesday 05-Apr
Thursday 06-Apr
Friday 07-Apr
Saturday 08-Apr

Sunday 09-Apr
Monday 10-Apr
Tuesday 11-Apr
Wednesday 12-Apr
Thursday 13-Apr

Friday 14-Apr
Saturday 15-Apr
Sunday 16-Apr
Monday 17-Apr
Tuesday 18-Apr

Wednesday 19-Apr
Thursday 20-Apr
Friday 21-Apr
Saturday 22-Apr
Sunday 23-Apr

Monday 24-Apr
Tuesday 25-Apr
Wednesday 26-Apr
Thursday 27-Apr
Friday 28-Apr

More Information

This webcam at Bernera Farm, 3km (1.8 miles) north of Glenelg, looks north east down Glen Bernera towards Glas Bheinn 394m (1,300 feet). The road continues to Ardintoul Point.

Click to enlarge
Satellite image showing the location of Bernera Farm and the approximate field of view of this webcam. Original image copyright 2006 MDA Earthsat
Satellite image showing the location of Bernera Farm and the approximate field of view of this webcam. Original image copyright 2006 MDA Earthsat

Click here to view a zoomable map of the area covered by the webcam courtesy of Multimap.

The settlement at Ardintoul has played host to an eclectic collection of industries over the 100 years.

In the 1930s a mine opened to harvest a seam of talcose rock. During the three years of mining, around 600 tons of rock was shipped by aerial ropeway down to the Loch Duich where it was loaded in to Clyde Puffers beached on the shore. The rock was conveyed by sea and canal to Bonnybridge in Central Scotland where it was crushed to produce talc powder. "Triton", the puffer with the distinction of carrying the last shipment of rock before the mine closed, was driven ashore in Loch Slapin on 18th December 1933 and declared a total wreck. Fortunately the crew of four were able to make their way to safety.

During the World War II Ardintoul served as a small Royal Navy fuel depot. The depot supported the ships operating from Kyle of Lochalsh on mine laying and defensive operations and had two circular oil tanks linked by pipeline to a refuelling jetty.

Today Ardintoul is home to 23m (75 feet) TV transmitter mast and a Marine Harvest sea-water salmon farm.

Acknowledgment

Thank you to Tim Macpherson of Glenelg Holiday Cottages for allowing images from his Bernera Farmhouse webcams to be displayed here.

Home | Top