X

www.blaven.com uses cookies to make this website better. Read more about this on the privacy policy page.

Random photograph of Blaven
Welcome to

Bernera and Ben Aslak Archive

On this page you can view the images captured by the Bernera and Ben Aslak webcam 17 hours a day over the past 30 days.

Briefly, use the table of times and dates below to choose the point of interest. Press the play button under the image to play a time-lapse sequence of images from the current time until the end of the selected day.

This webcam is located behind Bernera Farmhouse and looks west across the meadow to the Kyle Rhea narrows and Ben Aslak (610m or 2,000 feet) on the Isle of Skye.

The post by the fence at the right hand side holds the various sensors for this amateur weather station.

Step back button Play button Part play button Stop button Step forward button   Toggle captions button Latest image button

A picture is taken every 15 minutes between the hours of 05:00 and 22:00 UK local time (5am to 10pm). Outside of these hours there is nothing to see but blackness. Not just any blackness, but that special West Coast of Scotland blackness that, devoid of light pollution, is so black that light literally falls in to it. Click on the tables of times and dates to the left to jump directly to a hour. Please remember that you can only view pictures for today up to the current time!

Use the video recorder style buttons Forward button forward and Back button rewind buttons under the picture to step through the selected day 15 minutes at a time. Alternatively press the Play button play button to play a time-lapse sequence from morning until night.

The Last Thirty Days

The pictures below have been taken at 13:00 (1pm UK local time) on each of the past thirty days. Click on a picture to display a larger version of it above.

Thursday 25-May
Friday 26-May
Saturday 27-May
Sunday 28-May
Monday 29-May

Tuesday 30-May
Wednesday 31-May
Thursday 01-Jun
Friday 02-Jun
Saturday 03-Jun

Sunday 04-Jun
Monday 05-Jun
Tuesday 06-Jun
Wednesday 07-Jun
Thursday 08-Jun

Friday 09-Jun
Saturday 10-Jun
Sunday 11-Jun
Monday 12-Jun
Tuesday 13-Jun

Wednesday 14-Jun
Thursday 15-Jun
Friday 16-Jun
Saturday 17-Jun
Sunday 18-Jun

Monday 19-Jun
Tuesday 20-Jun
Wednesday 21-Jun
Thursday 22-Jun
Friday 23-Jun

More Information

This webcam is located behind Bernera Farmhouse and looks west across the Sound of Sleat to Ben Aslak on the Isle of Skye. At exactly 2,000 feet (610m) high, Ben Aslak just scrapes on to the list of Grahams; mountains in Scotland between 2,000 and 2,500 feet high with at least 500 feet of ascent on all sides.

Click to enlarge
Satellite image showing the location of Bernera Farm and the approximate field of view of this webcam. Original image copyright 2006 MDA Earthsat
Satellite image showing the location of Bernera Farm and the approximate field of view of this webcam. Original image copyright 2006 MDA Earthsat

The Grahams are poor relations to the Munros (Scottish mountains over 3,000 feet) and the Corbetts (2,500 to 3,000 feet). Indeed the Grahams were previously known as the Elsies as in 'LC' or Lesser Corbetts. There are 224 Grahams in Scotland.

The post by the fence at the right hand side holds the various sensors for this amateur weather station.

Click here to view a zoomable map of the area covered by the webcam courtesy of Multimap.

Acknowledgment

Thank you to Tim Macpherson of Glenelg Holiday Cottages for allowing images from his Bernera Farmhouse webcams to be displayed here.

Home | Top